Welcome Guest. Login/Register.
8 weavers online | help

How to measure two color striped warp on warping mill ??

6 replies [Last post]
celtinbirks's picture

Hi

I'm still a Newbie that has been only using one color warp up until now.  I am wanting to measure a 2 color striped warp for my next project (4 black, 4 white, etc.) on my horizontal warping mill and have no good idea how to do it.  I don't have a paddle.  What should I do?

Thanks!

Candace

Cat Brysch's picture
I would measure...

all my white and sley them in leaving the empty dents for the blank, then measure the black and fill in. I commonly warp on 4 threads at a time (with no paddle...just finger separating the threads), but that would not be fun with your changes happening every fourth warp end....hope this helps...have fun!

LauraFry's picture
With just four ends of each

With just four ends of each colour, I have found that I can wind one end of each (ie. two threads at once) and just thread them in their proper colour order (I dress the loom from back to front). Of course it depends on what yarn you are using. I might not attempt this with linen, but it worked for bamboo just fine. cheers, Laura

or you could make two chains

or you could make two chains (warping with 4 ends each), one each colour, and pre-sley them together.

Dawn McCarthy's picture
I follow the colors on my