Welcome Guest. Login/Register.
21 weavers online | help

Double weave, Triple weave?

15 replies [Last post]
I weave too's picture

I'm new to weaving, and I'm intrigued with double weave. Great way to 'widen' your weaving width.

I have not done it yet, just read about it, and not quite conceptualized it in my head yet. So I was wondering could a person "triple weave" a 4s pattern on say a 12s loom? In an "S" type fold on the cloth beam. Or perhaps a "quadruple" weave on a 16s?

Can this be done?

I appreciate your input!

Claudia

Claudia Segal's picture
I don't have an answer to

I don't have an answer to your question but had to say hi to another Claudia.  Someone got us confused recently but our weavatars are very different.

Welcome to Weavolution and to weaving! You are definitely off to a good start in thinking about how to expand different structures.

Claudia Segal, Weavolution co-founder 

KPgreenweave's picture
double weave, triple weave

Hi Claudia,

Yes, you can weave triple and quadruple.  If you are weaving a plain weave, which really only needs 2 shafts, you can do quadruple weaving on an 8-shaft loom.  Look up Jennifer Moore.  She is a wonderful teacher of double weave who recently published a book on the topic.  I took a workshop with her and wove a little pair of pants!  Ready to wear straight from the loom.  Once you get your mind around it, double-weave is very fun.  Also, Jennifer's work shows the design posibilities of double weave, in addition to the practical aspect of making big stuff.

Kate

tien's picture
Yes, but...

...at some point, you run into a limit because the yarns are sleyed so densely that they can't pass each other in the reed, so you get a sticky warp.  Doubleweave requires 2x the usual sett, triple weave requires 3x the usual sett...by the time you get to quadruple weave you're talking 4x the original sett!  So where you would have had 2 threads/dent you now have 8.  That is a lot of threads to cram into one dent.