Welcome Guest. Login/Register.
6 weavers online | help

What are the odds?

6 replies [Last post]
TinaHilton's picture

Years ago I bought a skein of soy silk and a skein of bamboo that I intended to make a scarf with.  I wanted something fairly simple to put on my table loom and decided this yarn had aged enough and needed to be used.  Plus the colors are lovely for a spring scarf.  On the label, I had written a suggested epi of 10, The warp is variegated, so I wanted the pattern to be fairly simple to show it off.  I decided on a 1/1/1/1/1/3 twill but was debating whether I should thread it as pointed or straight.  For inspiration, I decided to search the internet for other possible patterns and setts and found a reference to a Handwoven magazine from 2005 with a scarf using this yarn.  I have all the Handwovens from 2004, but I'm not very good at putting my magazines back in their binder after reading them.  But it was right where it should have been.  I found the article and discovered that the scarf project in question used the variegate soy silk yarn as warp and the solid bamboo as weft -- just like I planned.  And the sett was the same as I planned.  And the pattern was the same too! The author did use different colors, but otherwise our brains were in sync.

I'm feeling very confident about this project now.  Now to get to winding that warp.

Tina

celtinbirks's picture
Odds

That is pretty cool when things just seem to "turn out" like that.  Have fun.

Candace

ReedGuy's picture
Things just fall in line

Things just fall in line sometimes. :) Maybe the moon and sun are in alignment, or maybe it was just the full moon on Friday that did it. ;)

Happy weaving. :)

Bonnie Inouye's picture
good memory

Wow, you have a good memory, Tina.