Welcome Guest. Login/Register.
12 weavers online | help

Spinning wheel: new or used?

30 replies [Last post]
Claudia Segal's picture

I sold my Kromski Sonata and am sharing a Schacht Sidekick with a friend.  I am seriously considering buying my own spinning wheel and am unsure if I should go new or used.  It does not need to be portable because we have the Sidekick which is great.  I loved buying a new wheel but my friend uses it much more than I do and I hate to disturb her project to start one of my own.  Taking bobbins off and on is difficult to get the tension exactly the same each time and I'm not sure it really matters.  

One other factor, Maryland Sheep and Wool festival is coming soon so I can try out several new wheels there to help me decide.  I am looking for suggestions as to new or used and what wheel you like and why.  I have been spinning for about 3 years.

Claudia

up
0 users have voted.
If you choose to looki for a

If you choose to looki for a used wheel, do try it and make sure it hasn't been "abused". I'd say that most of the wheels out there are pretty well made, but after a while all of them show sigs of wear.

Some of the new wheels out there that are not at the high end of pricing, but spin well are:

Ashford: Traditional, Traveler or Kiwi

Louet: S17 - comes only single treadle, but much less than the S10 with the same spinning ability

I'd avoid any of the "portable" wheels. They all have weak spots where they fold to make them smaller. The concept of the Ashford Traveler or the Louet S17 is that you pick them up by the flyer and throw them on the back seat or in the trunk and off you go. The upright Lendrums are much the same.

up
0 users have voted.
Kade1301's picture
Why did you sell your Sonata?